President Ruto (centre) displays a copy of the new IEBC law on July 9, 2024 at the KICC. With him are (from left): Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Amason Kingi (Senate Speaker), Moses Wetangula (National Assembly Speaker), Rigathi Gachagua (Deputy President), Raila Odinga (ODM) and Prime CS Musalia Mudavadi.

On Tuesday, 09 July 2024, President William Ruto signed the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Amendment Bill, 2024 into law, at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre, paving the way for the appointment of the selection panel that will recruit new IEBC commissioners. 

In the new law, the number of members of the selection panel has been increased from seven to nine to allow for more representation of stakeholders and interest groups. Also, individuals seeking to be IEBC commissioners will be required to possess knowledge and at least ten years of experience. The term of the secretary to the commission has also been increased from the current three years to four years, renewable once.

The bill was passed based on the recommendations made by the National Dialogue Committee (NADCO), which consists of leaders from the Kenya Kwanza Coalition and the Azimio la Umoja Coalition.

The president urged the Parliament to expedite other recommendations made by the committee in the NADCO report and process the various bills contained in it.

NADCO chair, Majority Leader Kimani Ichung’wa, noted that the adoption of the bill serves to portray the importance of dialogue in the country. He also added that other bills emanating from the report will be given priority once the Parliament resumes sitting later this month.